My son’s first fish on a fly rod.

My son has recently taken an interest in tying flies.  I have helped him tie a coupe of simple patterns and he is getting pretty good.  Especially considering the kid is only 6 years old.  015Here is his first fly, a Sz. 8 black wooly bugger.

His interest in tying flies has naturally led him to an increased interest in fly fishing.  He has gone with me before, but Saturday was the first time he asked if we could go fly fishing.

How can I refuse a request like that?

I had to help him cast, but he did the rest all on his own and he ended up landed this…

041

The kid is awesome!  Look at that cheeser!  He was soo excited (I think I was just as excited).  It is a good thing we were the only ones there because I must have looked pretty funny jumping up and down while clearing him on as he hauled it in.  He hooked two more after that but, they got of just before he got them to shore.

Oh, I almost forgot the best part.  He tied the fly he caught those fish on that day,

I think he is hooked.  He has caught fish before using conventional tackle, but as we all know it is so mush better catching them on a fly rod.

(I hope Santa brings him a fly rod)

FYI  Approximate temp: 60° F.  Fly used: a black Sz. 12 Forget-me-knot midge (Not my pattern but one my son tied), 1 fish caught (1 trout, 2 more got off).

P.S. The Forget-me-knot midge pattern that I keep mentioning is an awesome pattern from Tightline Productions and can be found here,

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Carri

     /  December 18, 2012

    Oh no! TWO fly fishing monsters 🙂 Glad he loves it so much – every Dad needs a fishing buddy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

